spirituality & philanthropy

health care


scientific research

The Rottendorf Foundation

health care

Science Awards

In accordance with the statutes, the Foundation provides funds at least every other year for prize competitions to be held by a university in only one field in the order of pharmacology, pharmacy. The prize competition is organized by the relevant faculty. The prize shall be awarded to the best work performed in the field of the prize competition by a student or lecturer of the university to which the prize is made available, within 12 months from the official announcement of the conditions of the prize competition by the faculty. Determination of the conditions is the sole responsibility of the faculty concerned. A work that has already been awarded a prize in any form on another occasion may not be awarded a Rottendorf prize.

Since 1995, a European Prize has also been awarded.

2021 Düsseldorf Award for Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry to Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jonathan Cramer, HHU Düsseldorf;
Europe Prize for Pharmacy: Prof. Dr. Valérie Vanhoorne from the Laboratory of Pharmaceutical Technology at Ghent University.

Past award winners:

  • 1977 Essen, Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. rer. nat. Otto-Erich Brodde, Senden, Prof. Dr. med. Joachim Wagner, Düsseldorf
  • 1979 Bonn Preis für Pharmazie: Priv. Doz. Richard Süverkrüp, Bornheim
  • 1981 Köln Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. med. Gerh. Heimann, Köln
  • 1983 Münster Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. rer. nat. Hartmut Derendorf, Apotheker Jürgen Maibaum
  • 1985 Düsseldorf Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. D. Hafner, Prof. Dr. U. Borchard
  • 1987 Bonn Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. Leimann Sutanto, Bonn
  • 1989 Köln Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. Stefan Dhein
  • 1991 Münster Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. rer. nat. Dirk Schrader, Hamburg
  • 1993 Bonn Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. Gerhard Moldering, Dr. Klaus Fink, Prof. Dr. Eberhard Schlicker
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Lisa Giovanelli, Universität Florenz
  • 1995 Münster Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. habil. rer. nat. Gerhard Scriba, Münster
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Gilles Ponchel, Paris
  • 1997 Mainz Preis für Pharmakologie: Prof. Dr. Dr. Ernst Mütschler, Dr. Ragip Ziyal, Prof. Dr. Günter Lambrecht, Prof. Dr. Dieter Nickel, Guildo Müller
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Adriaan Peter Fjzermann
  • 1999 Düsseldorf Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. Wolfgang Sippl, Universität Düsseldorf
    Europa-Preis: Kriestien de Paepe, Vrije Universität Brüssel, Belgien
  • 2001 Bochum Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. Andreas Friebe, Universität Bochum
    Europa-Preis: PB Ramiro Jover Atienza, Universidad de Valencia, Spanien
  • 2003 München Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. Andreas Ludwig, Universität München
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Maclej Baginski, Universität Gdansk, Polen
  • 2005 Münster Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. Rotraut Stephanie Müller, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Sophie Durieux-Poissonnier, Université du Lille, Frankreich
  • 2007 Bonn Preis für Pharmazie: PD Dr. Daniela Gündisch, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Anne des Rieux, Université chatholique de Louvain, Bruxelles, Belgien
  • 2009 Düsseldorf Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. Markus Thommes, Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Magali Zeisser-Labouébe, Université de Genève, Schweiz
  • 2011 Bonn Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. Ana Kilić, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Frank Christian, University of Glasgow, Schottland
  • 2013 Münster Preis für Pharmazie: Dr. Ralph Holl, Westfälische Wilhelms- Universität Münster
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Gregor Fuhrmann, ETH Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Schweiz
  • 2015 Köln Preis für Pharmakologie: Dr. Markus Pietsch, Universität zu Köln
    Europa-Preis: Dr. Morten Skott Thomsen, Copenhagen University, Dänemark
  • 2019 Aachen Preis für Pharmakologie und Pharmazie: Dr. rer. nat. Sonja Djudjaj , Westfälische Hochschule Aachen, Dr. Yang Shi, University Utrecht
  • 2021 Düsseldorf Preis für Pharmazeutische und Medizinische Chemie an Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jonathan Cramer, HHU Düsseldorf
    Europa-Preis für Pharmazie: Prof. Dr. Valérie Vanhoorne vom Laboratory of Pharmaceutical Technology der Universität Gent

Rottendorf Chair at the WWU Münster

Rottendorf Foundation establishes endowed professorship at WWU Münster

The Rottendorf Foundation from Ennigerloh is funding an endowed professorship for “Pharmaceutical Technology” at the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy at the Westphalian Wilhelms University (WWU) Münster for ten years. On Monday, 12 September 2022, Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels, Rector of WWU Münster, and the foundation’s directors Hermann-Ulrich Viskorf and Dr. Lilian Klewitz-Haas signed a corresponding agreement in a ceremony.

The endowed professorship will be located at the Institute of Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy and is to be converted into an endowed chair after six years. The research focus will be on the simulation and modelling of the production of solid pharmaceutical forms – such as tablets, capsules or dragées. The research area includes, for example, process technologies in the areas of granulation, tableting, mixing or filming.

“With the endowed professorship, we are expanding the profile of the pharmacy degree programme at the WWU and thus further increasing the attractiveness of Münster as a place to study,” explained Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels. Hermann-Ulrich Viskorf, Chairman of the Board of the Rottendorf Foundation, emphasised: “I look forward to a fruitful cooperation with WWU Münster from which both sides will benefit.”

“The Rottendorf Foundation Professorship is a strategic strengthening of pharmaceutical technology at WWU and leads to better networking of the department and its students with regional industry,” explained Prof. Dr. Joachim Jose, Dean of the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy. “We are very grateful to the Rottendorf Foundation for this opportunity.” And Prof. Dr. Klaus Langer, Director of the Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy, is certain: “By focusing the endowed professorship on the simulation of pharmaceutical-technological processes, Münster WWU is establishing a novel, innovative field of research with a unique character.”

With the endowed professorship, the university and the Rottendorf Foundation would like to strengthen the existing good connection, which could also include joint internships for students in the company, joint symposia or additional scholarships in the future.

Further information

The website of the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy at EMU https://www.uni-muenster.de/wwu/fak_fb/fb12.html 

Photos:  Thomas Mohn

Project funding

2022: AppO-Mobile Project: Expansion of a “Center of Excellence for Simulation and Digital Health in the Clinical Pharmacy for Digital and Practice-Oriented Training of Young Professionals” at the Institute of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacotherapy, Heinrich Heine University, Düsseldorf, Germany

2020: Funding of an exploratory R&D project at the Institute for Life Science Technologies (ILT.NRW) of the Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences.

2020: Grant for the expansion of apparative equipment (pelletizing system) in the field of pharmaceutical technology, Westfälische-Wilhelms-Universität.